The Start of Something Cool

268b1b2b47a0cc73dc8e1195e40d0382

It has been over a month since I have written. Sorry! Life has just been incredibly busy to say the least. Where to start…

Remember waaayyyy back into last year when I thought I had no idea what I wanted to do and that my life was at a stand still? Well, while I am still not entirely sure about what I want to do, I do know my life is at no stand still. I am going to be completely honest: I was no perfect High School student, and this imperfection was almost at a point that I thought I would not be able to get into University. The struggle was so much that I did not want to go to University, it was easier to whittle away than to keep pushing forward. Taking the gap year I was able to figure out what I wanted and I was able to really see what people thought of gap-year students. I had one person bold enough to tell me that I probably would not go back to school once I decided to take the year off.  It was at this point that I knew I HAD to go back, just in spite of her. Not only that, but I had to go because it was clear that I was ready to learn again. I re-ignited my passions and knew what I wanted again. Funny how things straighten themselves out on their own.

Ever since I attended Nationals in Nova Scotia in 2008 I knew that I loved the east coast. It rained for three and three-quarter days straight. It was not the rain that drew me to that place though, it was during the 6K race on the third day (the last race of the day) when the sun finally came out and illuminated the finish line. That image will forever be engraved in my mind as the day when I fell in love with that place. I knew I had to go back. Nova Scotia had always been my finish line, the carrot at the end of the stick. I didn’t care how I would get there, or even what I would do there, all I knew was that I wanted to live there and I would do whatever it took to make it. Even during the times when I was convinced that I would just work my whole life and not do post-secondary studies I knew that I had to get out of Alberta.

The long and the short of it is, I am finally going to be able to see my carrot at the end of the stick, and I am going to be able to prove that anti-gap year person wrong. I got accepted into University! In Nova Scotia! While some people would not consider this a big deal or massive feat I will tell you this: The journey to get that acceptance letter was one hell of a ride that I would NEVER embark on again.

I think the problem is that a lot us think that we are entitled to an education. Because of this, I felt obligated to find something to learn about and that just back fired in my face. But when I actually started to see things in perspective, when I actually started to think about what I loved to do it was not about it being an obligation anymore but a privilege. When I see it that way it makes it more meaningful and more rewarding. To think back to the days when I failed test after test, and squeaked by in some classes, I can only look forward now. While I will experience many more ups and downs I can at least have September 2013 in my mind, I made it that far, I have to keep going!

In order to be, you must do. All great things start from that one adventure. That one dream. That one idea. That one step. To adventure is to find yourself whole. To adventure is to have a story at the end of all of this. The places you see, the things you make and the people you meet will fuel you forever. Choose to see beauty where others see none, and strive for greatness always. Inspire yourself to do more. To be more. To feel good lost and explore always.

Leave a Reply

