One Year Ago Today

7650508793a6c5e4598dca31b089bd43

One year ago today I made my blog a public thing. I had been writing throughout January silently to myself but I think I felt even more out of place as I was writing to no one. Making it go public was incredible, I was not so sure how people would react to reading poorly written posts about teenage angst or slightly bias and uneducated views about adoption. It turns out that despite this, people wanted to read about the truth no matter how raw or hard to take in it was. Not only were readers able to read all of this but my adventures outside of the adoption spectrum including education choices, jobs and opportunities. To be able to write whatever has been quite relieving and therapeutic. It makes me so happy to know that this blog is useful to people and entertains and delights.

Our year in review;

The first month that the blog went live (February 2012) I had over 2500 individual views with 445 views the first day. As posts were added sporadically the numbers went up and down but the whole year has accumulated over 10000 views and 550 visitors from 56 different countries. To me, that is insane. The first month I was ecstatic even just getting a few views a day.

My blog has been honored to be published on various websites and magazines and even online newspaper columns. The amount of people interested in this sort of thing is pretty cool.

Maybe it is because this blog is written from the perspective of a young person that makes it interesting, because as you can read my opinion changes rapidly. But I think that is important, I think that is what makes it real. Writing as an older adult I think would be more of a reflective thing rather than current. I think in order to see adoption from a younger point of view means to read it in the current time as it happens. I do not know how long I will write for but even I am surprised by how much my opinion has fluctuated throughout the year. Who knows, maybe you will get to read about my life twenty years from now when everything turns out okay.

A whole year later and I cannot thank readers and supporters enough for their interest. Whether you are waiting parent or a seasoned veteran or an adoptee yourself, I can only hope that your journey is one that you will be proud of and that your children will be proud of. At the end of the day all we really want is to love and be loved, find happiness and make our own mark on the world. Whether your mark is a blog, or a magazine or a photo album of pictures, let us make our lives the most authentic that it can be. Bring it on!

e2e8175256d5813548832aaaca91fb2b

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “One Year Ago Today

  1. Jennifer says:

    Thank you Orn. It has been amazing to read your blog this past year & you have every reason to be proud of all your achievements in both the physical & the blog-y world. You are a generous person. Wishing you all the very best with whatever is to come & I look forward to reading further insightful posts.

  2. Kelly Raudenbush says:

    I just discovered your blog – and I am now staying up way too late reading your posts. Thanks for being candid and vulnerable and giving parents like me some insight so we can be (hopefully) more understanding parents.

Leave a Reply

