Liebster Award

award

Hello All! I have been nominated for a Liebster Award again!

I have encountered the “Liebster” Award’s before and let’s just say I never really knew how it worked and never bothered to figure it out. But a kind reader has given me plentiful information about it and I am now following through! For those of you who do not know, the Liebster Award is given to a blog that has less than 200 followers, is relatively new and/or up and coming. If somebody receives an award there are rules to follow:

Each blogger nominated must post 11 things about themselves.
Then answer the 11 questions the tagger has asked.
Blogger must then create 11 questions of their own to ask the bloggers they decide to nominate.
They must choose 11 bloggers with less than 200 followers to nominate and link them on their blog post.
Bloggers must be notified of their award.
No tag backs!
So, here are 11 things about me:
1- I am Thai, but have lived in Alberta for as long as I can remember. Like my nominator, I love the mountains and perfection is taking a ski into a remote hut in the Rockie’s.
2-I am a gap year believer, mostly because I am taking one right now. I do not believe it would have been wise to jump into a program that I was not passionate about, and I have appreciated the work experience that I have gained from this year off.
3- I love to coach (canoe and kayak specifically), teach, anything that involves being active and having fun. While ‘fun’ is not my main motivating factor in my coaching philosophy I believe that success is fun, and working to receive success (at any level) is a worthwhile journey with worthwhile results.
4- I am a Daddy’s girl. From day one I was sittin’ on Dad’s lap and loving every minute of it.
5- I love my home but long to live by the ocean. Fresh salt water air is the cure to anything.
6- I have visited Thailand several times, volunteering at Elephant Sanctuaries (no riding!) and chilling out on beaches. While some may think that it was a humbling experience for me, seeing as I was born there, it was no more humbling than a tourist going to check out the hot spots.
7-My career destination is uncertain, though I would love to be happy.
8-I love working for the City of Calgary. I have received so many certifications applicable to all fields of work that I am interested in and have gained such knowledgeable work experience!
9-I bake when I am trying to avoid certain tasks, like studying or doing laundry. I also bake when I am in a bad mood, so exam breaks rendered me Martha Stewart!
10- I drive a beaten old thing, probably would be safer to ride a moped in snowy Calgary than drive that thing!
11- I say “bagel” differently, and my friends never let me forget it.
11 Questions From Gen:
1- What is your favorite movie? Soul Surfer. Okay, so maybe the acting is a bit sketchy and a teensy bit religious, but I watch it to escape from the cold Calgary air. It lets me be a bit imaginative.
2- What kind of student were you in elementary school? High achiever. I worked hard and expected high marks. Ironically, I did not do so well in math but I graduated so…
3- Your biggest success? So far, my biggest success was graduating High School. I had a lot of personal troubles at the end of Junior High and all through High School that I even doubted my ability to finish.
4- What is your oldest memory? Falling down the stairs in flip-flops holding a toy plane. It was a hospital visit, and I still have a scar on my hand from it.
5- Who was your hero when you were growing up? Mulan. Probably because she is Asian and incredibly bad-ass.
6- Describe a place you love close to your home. The Glenmore Reservoir. I spent Junior and High School either paddling in it, or running around it. It was my home away from home.
7- What’s your go-to meal to entertain friends? Fettuccine Alfredo.
8- One song on your playlist right now? “Home” by Phillips Phillips
9- Name one quality you hope one of your parents has passed on to you. My father’s kindness. I already know I exhibit almost all of my mother’s incredible passion and stubbornness which have served me well, but I hope I am kind like my father. He treats everyone, even those of have burned him, with a level of respect and kindness as if he knows that they have their own storms to walk through.
10- Are you more into Science or Arts? I would like to say Science because I dislike Art. But I am bad at Science and am imaginative art-wise. So…yeah…
11- How much time do you spend blogging and reading blogs each day? I try to read my regular blogs weekly, and update my blog every week or two.
Questions I want my nominees to answer (they’re not hard, trust me):
1- What is your idea of the perfect day?
2- If you could be a character in your favourite TV show, who would you be?
3- If money did not matter, what career would you pursue and why?
4- If you had a theme song that depicted your life, what would it be?
5- Most inspirational words of wisdom:
6- What is your favourite way to blow off steam?
7- What was the happiest moment in your life?
8-If you were meeting you for the first time, what would your first impression be like?
9-What are the most important lessons you have learned in life?
10- Who would you cheer on in a race, a cheetah or a gazelle?
11- If you were a category in Jeopardy, what would you be?
I know I am supposed to choose 11 blogs. Cripes, that is a lot. But for now I have only a few, check back for added ones!
2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Wendy Cushing says:

    OK, so if I’m to understand this correctly–and forgive me if I don’t; you’ll recall I am not up for Mother of the Year–I have to post 11 random things about myself, then answer your 11 questions on my blog, reference back to you, and then nominate 11 blogs of my own and ask them 11 different questions? That might be more than my middle aged brain can handle. You may also recall that I can’t even get my kid out the door and to the bus stop on time. But I’ll give it my best shot, because, really? I’m one of those anal retentive weirdo Virgos who actually likes filling out surveys and stuff. I’ll see what I can do. Let me know if I screw it up.

    • ornblovo says:

      Oh Wendy… πŸ˜›
      You do not have to reference back to me, you just have to give 11 randoms about yourself, answer my 11 questions, and ask 11 yourself on a post of your own. As far as nominating blogs go, I only nominated 2 for now because 11 is brain overload. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

