A Job to Love

Choose a job you love and you will never work a day in your life.

It’s funny how much this quote has come in handy over the last few years. I post it at least once a month. I have always had this idea that I wanted to be happy first and foremost and that money, though a luxury, was not my motivating factor in choosing my job. And time and time again, I find myself testing this theory. My mother told me that sometimes people get stuck doing jobs they dislike because they have bills to pay and a family to feed, and that I have been incredibly lucky at the fact that each and everyone of my jobs has been done with passion. I have been lucky, I see that now. It is funny though because the jobs that I do are jobs that when I was younger I would have frowned upon and made fun of because of their lack of university degrees required, or money earned. But the truth is I think I have grown from that. Possibly because I learned that math is hard and science is not my forte and that I am happy being outdoors, active and in a leadership role. My job does not require a University degree but does require a lot childhood development training and certifications. My job involves playing xbox with junior high students and making duct-tape wallets. It involves empowering preteen girls to pursue science despite society’s stereotypes about women’s intelligence, and to continue with sports through Go Girls programs. I love my job not because it makes a ton of money (because it doesn’t) but because it serves a purpose. If we can give preteens the support that sometimes is not given to them just because they are misunderstood, than we are opening doors for them to pursue careers that make them happy and successful at the same time. Something which perhaps their own parents failed to do themselves. If we can empower preteen girls to realize their potential in sciences or arts than we can help them seek out a career that leaves them fulfilled and challenged.

I think nowadays I see too many people working jobs they hate and not taking time for family or even themselves. The world we live in is demanding and we are forgetting to live. Many of the things we do today are things we have just settled for, and while attempting to pursue happiness may bring on incredible risk,  that is what living is. Risk. Dreaming. Passion. Routine is not a risk, nor is settling. I think as we find more responsibilities resting on our shoulders we forget what we were taught when we were younger. It is funny because it is what our own parents taught us, our parents who themselves might be settling. So we can see this in two ways, either we were told to dream when we were younger because we were irresponsible, naive, invalids, who had a youth to waste or because our parents lied, life is about growing up and realizing that dreams are dreams and somebody’s got to pay the bills. My job is to help young people realize that neither of these are true, despite their frequent appearances in our childhood and eventual adulthood. That is possibly the biggest battle, keeping the flame alive even though everyone and reality is trying to blow it out. And that is why I love my job, it is challenging but it has a purpose; to change the norm and reignite what has been lost. We blame society for screwing with our dreams, but we are society. The world is yours, kids, the world is ours.

Leave a Reply

