Bring in the Clowns

If someone had told me 10 years ago that I would be standing in the rain with a long purple rain coat, rainbow coloured knee-high socks, red and white rubber boots and a yellow fisherman’s hat, holding a clipboard and a whistle, yelling at elementary kids to suck it up and keep running….I would not have believed them. Seriously, working a job with kids was the last thing I wanted back then. I have no regrets though, yes, running in the rain sucks and while I take pride in saying that I am making them tougher, a part of me does feel guilty that I get to stand in my lovely outfit while they endure mother nature’s wrath. While my job is full of breakdowns and crying sessions, it is equally full of laughter, smiles and as you will soon find out…”kid-isms”. Seriously, where do kids come up with this stuff?

1)
Me: Okay, we are doing a 1km timed run. I don’t care if it’s raining out, you’re tough, you can do this.

Girls: What if we slip and fall while we’re running?

Me: You suck it up and keep running.

Girls: Ewwwwwwwww….

2)

Is there such thing as graduation where you come from?

3)

Me:  What is the capital of Nunavut?
Girl: The United States of America!

4)

Me: How many seconds are in a year?

Girl: 3…right?

And that concludes kid-isms.

Leave a Reply

