There Is No Reason Not to Follow Your Heart. Stay hungry. Stay foolish.

Well Good Morning Everyone!

A wonderful evening of food, dancing and friends made for a wonderful way to spend my Saturday night. I can’t believe how much I miss these types of events! It didn’t take long before I was talking with old friends (who were like my family) like I had never left. It didn’t take long before I had an immense desire to become more involved with my roots and begin dancing again. I guess absence does make the heart grow fonder.

It had been four years since I last saw and stepped into the Bedington Heights Community Centre. I can’t express how amazing it felt to see all my old dance group again. Up until this point, I was pretty sure I had outgrown the Royal Thai Dance life, one of the reasons I decided to leave in the first place. But seeing all the beautiful costumes again and seeing the group that hasn’t changed much since I left made me long to have a place in there again. I had left dancing four years ago, so that would have made me..yes, the rotten thirteen-old. Typical I guess for most pre-teens to have this sudden urgency to move one, a part of life that must happen otherwise we would never have a desire to return back to our old lives. Rest assured that all unrest returns back to normal after a few years.

It took me about five seconds to figure out that I wanted to dance again. The past few days I have been thinking about it a lot and I really, really did miss Friday night dance practice. Ten years of dancing, a four year break and I was ready to go back on again. A typical practice for Thai dance is not like a typical ballet practice or hip-hop session. There is no studio, or a manic teacher who yells at you for mistakes. Well, most of the time anyways. The girls are usually not competing against each other, although I wish I could say the same about the mothers. There is always some sort of inner “Dance Mom” thing going on around there, whether it be with costume designs or solo pieces. The girls all gather in the living room or wherever there happens to be a decent amount of space and we dance for about an hour, take a break, and dance again.  The rest of the night we eat Thai food and watch movies and basically hang out. Pretty low key. Every now and again someone makes trip to Thailand where they bring back loads of Thai costumes and jewellery and all the girls play a fashion show wearing the various garments. And of course we perform, whether at festivals or weddings. It is pretty awesome. So maybe my reason for leaving was that I really had no desire to belong in the world of make-up, fancy costumes and hair design. But for some reason now I am making up for it, I am ready for the girly-girl stage!

My last adventure of the evening was of course, to ask my dance teacher if I could go back to dancing for her. Okay, so I’ll have you know that I have been addicted to the show “Dance Moms” recently so my perspective on what her reaction would be about me coming back was somewhat skewed by what I had seen on the reality show where the teacher is insane. But no such insanity happened. My wonderful teacher informed me:

“I am so glad to hear this. I am so glad that you want to dance again. It is important to keep demonstrating your culture, because you should be proud of your culture, you should be proud that you’re Thai. It is important that you never forget where you come from. I will let you know when our next practice is, and if you can make it, you are certainly welcome. I am so glad to hear this, this is so good.”

Wow. That’s it. Ladies and gentlemen, dancer Orn is back on the stage.

6 thoughts on “There Is No Reason Not to Follow Your Heart. Stay hungry. Stay foolish.

  1. nic says:

    Sawadee pee mai
    to you and your family.
    Thank you for sharing the lovely photos of your Royal Thai dance Group, my 3 year daughter loves them. I wish we had something like that here, but we don’t unfortunately but she is going to share her Thai New Year celebrations with her friends at Pre-school tomorrow.

    • ornblovo says:

      Hi!
      You’re very welcome for the photos! I hope something eventually arises, I found my Thai dance group just via word of mouth. There isn’t an official website or anything. Definitely a unique dance style, I am proud to be a part of it (I don’t think ballet is my cup of tea!).
      Please say, “Sawasdee Kha” to your daughter from me.
      Thanks for reading!

  2. giapatoi says:

    Ciao Orn ! I find your blog only five minutes ago and i’m just curious about the perspective of an adolescente adopted girl.
    I live in Italy with an adopted russian teen ager : our life is like a rollecoaster !
    Buona giornata e divertiti ! ( have a good day and enjoy yourself )
    PS sorry for my awful english

    • ornblovo says:

      Hi there!
      Thank you for reading. I am happy to blog and I hope you find my blog interesting and different!
      I hear Italy is a beautiful place, I would love to visit there in the future.
      Learning Italian would be pretty cool too!
      Ciao!

  3. Nichole says:

    Hi, Just wanted to drop you a quick line to say I enjoy reading your posts. We adopted our son who is now 3 from Thailand in Sep 2009. We also have a 3 year old daughter adopted from China last June. I wish there was a Thai dance troop here in Nova Scotia as I know my son would love to try Thai dancing.
    Nichole

    • ornblovo says:

      Hi Nichole!
      Nova Scotia huh? That’s awesome! I’m actually going to work in Nova Scotia in Lower Sackville as a coach! Yes, Thai dance groups are definitely rarer, not your typical ballet company!
      I wish you and your family the best!

Leave a Reply

