Ordering Out

A friend of mine provided me with a good laugh when we discussed our futures with regards to our wishes to have kids.

In this day and age, one is used to hearing the term “adopted” and understanding what it means. At our age, it was almost a given that we would know what is meant by it. But during this particular time I was caught unknowingly in a state of bemusement for as how I was supposed to respond to a different term of phrase.

“I don’t want to have kids biologically. I’ll order out.”

“Order out? What on earth are you talking about?”

“Like…you know, order out.”

“Well, no I do not know…ordering food?”

“No! I would adopt a kid!”

What in God’s name? Since when was ‘ordering out’ now the replacement verb for adopting? Honey..let’s order Ethiopian tonight. Wouldn’t that be nice?

It strikes me how much living in different areas of the same country can still serve as grounds for cultural confusion. Good grief…

Leave a Reply

